The Australian National University

Weekly Bulletin

Research School of Physical Sciences & Engineeering

Volume 34 Number 33 22 – 28 August 2008

FROM THE DIRECTOR'S OFFICE

As all of you know we have been planning for the merger of Physics at ANU for some time. I am pleased to announce that approval has been given by the Vice Chancellor and the Dean of Science for the formal merger of RSPSE and the Department of Physics into a single entity with immediate effect. This is a very exciting move that we all believe will provide an enormous research and educational capacity at the ANU that is unmatched anywhere else in the country.

The structure of the single entity, which we will simply call **The School of Physical Sciences and Engineering** (SPSE) to be ratified at a later date, involves the following entities and management positions:

SPSE will comprise the current Research School of Physical Sciences and Engineering (RSPSE), augmented with a new research department called Department of Quantum Science (formally the Department of Physics) whose initial head will be David McClelland, and a new overarching education body, The Centre for Learning and Teaching in Physical Sciences (CLTPS), that will be headed by David McClelland.

Academic members of the Education Centre will be those staff, drawn mainly from the Research Departments of RSPSE but also from elsewhere across campus, who have a substantial role in undergraduate education. Initially the majority of Centre members will come from the Department of Quantum Science with a longer term goal that Centre members be drawn from across all research departments in the merged entity and from elsewhere across campus.

Management positions within The School of Physical Sciences and Engineering Director, Jim Williams Deputy Director (Research), Ken Baldwin Deputy Director (Education), David McClelland Within CLTPS,

Associate Director (post graduate), Neil Manson Associate Director (undergraduate), Craig Savage

Having the structural framework and management in place allows us to move forward with clarity but there is much to be done.

We plan to formally review the structure after a two year timeframe but much tweaking will be done along the way as we put in place the administrative and other functions necessary to have a single unified entity. We plan to do all of this in a smooth and unobtrusive way so that we can focus on our research and education priorities.

Jim Williams

Director, RSPSE and The School of Physical Sciences and Engineering

STAFF MOVEMENTS

Professor Robert Elliman, Dr Mark Ridgway, Dr Patrick Kluth and Mr Zohair Hussain (EME) will be attending the 16th International Conference on Ion Beam Modification of Materials in Dresden, Germany, (31 August - 5 September). Professor Robert Elliman will continue onto the Second International Meeting On Recent Developments In The Study Of Radiation Effects In Matter in Crete, Greece, (7 -11 September) whilst Dr Patrick Kluth and Mr Zohair Hussain will then undertake collaborative research activities with colleagues in Juelich, Germany until 16 September. Dr Mark Ridgway will return on 7 September.

Mr Tim Burgess and Mr David Oliver (EME) will be attending the Innovation Campus (iC) Scanning Probe Microscopy and Hands-On Workshop'08 in Wollongong, (28 - 30 August).

The Department of Theoretical Physics welcomes Professor Helen Au-Yang and Professor Jacques Perk from Oklahoma State University. They will be working with members of the mathematical physics group until June 2009.

FROM ACTING FACILITIES & SERVICES MANAGER

Recycling in the School

We have arranged for a number of mixed recycling bins to be placed in the kitchens and tea rooms throughout the School. Please use these bins for Aluminium and Steel Cans, Glass Bottles, Juice and Milk Cartons and Rigid Plastic Containers. These dark blue bins will be emptied and monitored by our cleaning staff. The University has made a commitment to reduce the amount of waste ending up in landfill, and this is part of the effort.

I have also asked the cleaning staff to ensure that every office and desk has access to a cardboard box for paper recycling. These boxes are emptied into the blue wheelie bins around the school and the paper waste is collected regularly.

I would also remind everyone that we now have a battery recycling program in the School. Please take your dead batteries to the Store and these will be sent off for re-use.

If you find that you do not have access to any of these recycling programs, please inform Graeme Cornish on 53062 or Facilities.Manager@anu.edu.au

GRANTS AND AWARDS

Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters

Program Number: 94674

Title: Abel Prize

E-mail: info@abelprisen.no

Web Site: http://www.abelprisen.no/en/

Program URL:

http://www.abelprisen.no/en/abelprisen/nomination.html

The sponsor awards an international prize for outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics, including mathematical aspects of computer science, mathematical physics, probability, numerical analysis and scientific computing, statistics, and also applications of mathematics in the sciences.

Deadline(s): 15/09/2008

Link to full program description:

http://australia.infoed.org/spin/spin_prog.asp?94674

Macquarie University

Program Number: 94826

Title: Department of Physics Summer Vacation Research Scholarships in Physics, Photonics and Astronomy

E-mail: vacschol@ics.mq.edu.au

Program URL:

http://www.physics.mq.edu.au/undergrad/vacation-scholarships/index.html

The Department of Physics, Macquarie University, is offering up to four under-graduate vacation scholarships for summer 2009, for periods of six to seven weeks. These vacation scholarships are available to 2nd and 3rd year physics students studying at Australian Universities.

Deadline(s): 03/10/2008

Link to full program description:

http://australia.infoed.org/spin/spin prog.asp?94826

Agency for Science, Technology & Research

Program Number: 98360

Title: Singapore International Graduate Award

E-mail:

Web Site: http://www.a-

star.edu.sg/graduate academy and scholarships/319-Singapore-International-Graduate-Award-SINGA-

Program URL: https://www.singa.a-

star.edu.sg/howtoapply.php

The Singapore International Graduate Award (SINGA) is a collaboration between the Agency for Science, Technology & Research (ASTAR), the National University of Singapore (NUS) and the Nanyang Technological University (NTU). PhD training will be carried out in English at your chosen lab at ASTAR Research Institutes, NUS or NTU. Students will be supervised by distinguished and world-renowned researchers in these labs. Upon successful completion, students will be conferred a PhD degree by either NUS or NTU.

Deadline(s): 01/01/2009

Link to full program description:

http://australia.infoed.org/spin/spin_prog.asp?98360

National Research Foundation of Singapore

Program Number: 98361 Title: Research Fellowships E-mail: Karen Tan@nrf.gov.sg

Web Site:

 $\underline{http://www.nrf.gov.sg/nrf/otherProgrammes.aspx?id{=}142}$

Program URL:

https://rita.nrf.gov.sg/AboutUs/NRF Initiatives/NRF RF 20 08/Guidelines%20and%20Templates/NRF%20RF%20

The National Research Foundation (NRF) Research Fellowship Scheme is a globally competitive programme aimed at attracting, recruiting and rooting outstanding young scientists and researchers to conduct independent research in Singapore. Applicants should be under the age of 39 years at the date of application, and within 10

years post PhD. **Deadline(s): 30/09/2008**Link to full program description:

http://australia.infoed.org/spin/spin prog.asp?98361